Board of directors

Andi Case

Chief Executive Officer

Andi Case was appointed to the board as chief executive on 17 June 2008, having previously been Clarksons' chief operating officer. 

Andi joined Clarksons in 2006 as managing director of the group's shipbroking arm, H Clarkson & Company Limited. He began his shipbroking career with C W Kellock and later Eggar Forrester.

Prior to joining Clarksons he was with Braemar Seascope for 17 years, latterly as head of sale and purchase and newbuildings.

Jeff Woyda

Chief Financial Officer & Chief Operating Officer

Jeff Woyda was appointed to the board on 1 November 2006.

Jeff qualified with KPMG and before joining Clarksons, was a member of the executive committee of Gerrard Group PLC. He also spent 13 years at GNI where he was chief operating officer. 

Jeff serves as an Independent Non-Executive Director of Lok'nStore Group plc and as a Non-Executive Director of the International Transport Intermediaries Club (ITIC).

Sir Bill Thomas

Chair (Non-Executive)

Bill was appointed as Chair of the Board on 13 February 2019. He chairs the Nomination Committee and is a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Bill is Chair of Spirent Communications plc, listed on the London Stock Exchange, and Chair of Node4, an unquoted IT infrastructure and services provider. He also serves as an independent Non-Executive Director of The Co-operative Bank p.l.c., where he chairs the Remuneration Committee and is a member of both the Risk Committee and the Nomination Committee. He is a member of the International Advisory Board of cyber security specialist FireEye, Inc; and chairs the Board of Trustees of the Royal Navy & Royal Marines Charity.

His past non-executive roles have included GFI SARL, XCHanging plc, Balfour Beatty plc and VFS Global. His executive career included senior roles at Hewlett Packard and EDS.

Peter Backhouse

Senior Independent Director (Non-Executive)

Peter Backhouse was appointed to the board on 16 September 2013 and became senior independent director on 5 November 2013.

Peter is chairman of the Supervisory Board of HES International B.V., a leading provider of port services in dry and liquid bulk handling. He has over 40 years' experience in the international energy business.

At British Petroleum he was chairman and chief executive of BP Europe, executive vice-president of global refining and marketing, and head of both North Sea oil development and global mergers and acquisitions. Most recently, he served as a non-executive director of BG Group PLC and as a member of the Advisory Board of US private equity firm Riverstone Energy Partners.

Peter is a member of the audit, remuneration and nomination committees.


Marie-Louise Clayton

Director (Non-Executive)

Marie-Louise Clayton was appointed to the board on 1 January 2017.

Marie-Louise held various executive positions including Finance Director of Venture Production plc, Chief Financial Officer & IT Director of the primary food group division of Associated British Foods plc and Chief Financial Officer of Lincoln Gas Turbines at GEC Alstom. She also held roles at Advent Venture Capital, Exxon Chemicals, Inland Revenue and Guest, Keen and Nettlefold.

Her past Non-Executive appointments have included Chair of the Audit Committee of Zotefoams plc, Audit Committee Chair of Diploma plc and Forth Ports plc and Non-Executive Director of Independent Oil & Gas Ltd and Ocean Rig ASA and GCHO Holdings Ltd, the holding company for Geoffrey Osbourne Ltd. She was also a trustee of Street League, a charity that helps young people into work.

Marie-Louise is a Fellow of the Association of Certified Accountants.

Marie-Louise is chair of the audit committee and a member of the remuneration and nomination committees.


Laurence Hollingworth

Director (Non-Executive)

Laurence was appointed to the Board on 23 July 2020 and is a member of the Remuneration Committee and Audit and Risk Committee.

He is Non-Executive Chairman at ABM Communications Limited and Non-Executive Director at Recycling Technologies Ltd.

Laurence's executive career in stockbroking spanned 37 years with Cazenove and latterly JP Morgan, where he held several leadership roles including Head of UK Investment Banking, Head of EMEA Industry Coverage and finally as Vice Chairman for Equity Capital Markets EMEA.

Tim Miller

Director (Non-Executive)

Dr Tim Miller was appointed to the board on 22 May 2018. He chairs the Remuneration Committee, and is a member of the Audit Committee and Nomination Committee.

Tim is a Non-Executive Director of Equiniti Group plc and Equiniti Financial Services Limited.  He is also a Non-Executive Director of Otis Gold Corporation, listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange.

The majority of Tim's executive career has been within regulated industries, including at Glaxo Wellcome and most latterly Standard Chartered, with global responsibility for areas including human resources, compliance, audit, assurance, financial crime, property and legal. He was previously a Non-Executive Director of recruitment services provider Michael Page Group plc, chairing their Remuneration Committee.

Birger Nergaard

Director (Non-Executive)

Birger Nergaard joined the board on 2 February 2015 and has been deputy chairman of the board of Clarksons Platou AS (formerly RS Platou ASA) since 2008.

He is currently a director of Verdane Capital's funds V, VI, VII and VIII, a director of  Clarksons Platou Securities AS, Nergaard Investment Partners AS and an advisor to the P/E fund Advent International in Norway.

Birger established Four Seasons Venture (today Verdane Capital) in 1985 and was the company's CEO until 2006. 

Birger was awarded King Harald's gold medal in 2006 for pioneering the Norwegian venture capital industry.  He holds a  law degree from the University of Oslo.

Birger is a member of the remuneration committee.

Heike Truol

Director (Non-Executive)

Heike was appointed to the Board on 31 January 2020 and is a member of the Audit and Risk, Nomination and Remuneration Committees.

In her executive career, Heike spent 11 years at Anglo American PLC where she held roles including Group Head, Strategy and more latterly Executive Head, Commercial Services. Prior to her time at Anglo American, Heike was a management consultant and held roles at Marakon Associates and Deloitte.